What are the different partitions in Linux?

While there are tons of file system types, there are only three kinds of partitions: primary, extended, and logical. Any given hard disk can only have a maximum of four primary partitions.

What are the different types of partitions?

There are three types of partitions: primary partitions, extended partitions and logical drives. A disk may contain up to four primary partitions (only one of which can be active), or three primary partitions and one extended partition.

What are the 4 partitions?

The answer to why you have four partitions is:

  • The EFI partition is used to store files used by UEFI.
  • Recovery and restore are used to hold system files needed when performing for example a factory reset.
  • The C: partition is your (and the operating systems) primary partition used for storage.

What are the must have partitions in Linux?

Desktop systems for personal use don’t have most of the complications that require so many partitions. For a healthy Linux installation, I recommend three partitions: swap, root, and home.

What is partition and types of partition?

Disk partitioning or disk slicing is the creation of one or more regions on secondary storage, so that each region can be managed separately. These regions are called partitions. … Partitioning allows the use of different filesystems to be installed for different kinds of files.

See also  How do I do a disk cleanup and defrag on Windows 7?

How many partitions can you have?

Each disk can have up to four primary partitions or three primary partitions and an extended partition. If you need four partitions or less, you can just create them as primary partitions. However, let’s say you want six partitions on a single drive.

What is an example of partition?

To partition is to divide something into parts. An example of partition is when you divide a hard drive into separate areas. … The definition of a partition is a structure or item that divides something, such as a room, into parts. When a wall is built that divides up a room, this wall is an example of a partition.

Why can I only have 4 partitions?

3 Answers. The limitation is 4 Primary partitions and comes from the structure of the Master Boot Record(MBR). However, you could have 3 primary partitions and 1 extended partition which can have any number of logical partitions within it. EFI supports GUID partition tables, which do not have this limitation.

What is difference between primary and logical partition?

Primary partition is a bootable partition and it contains the operating system/s of the computer, while logical partition is a partition that is not bootable. Multiple logical partitions allow storing data in an organized manner.

How do I see partitions in Linux?

9 Tools to Monitor Linux Disk Partitions and Usage in Linux

  1. fdisk (fixed disk) Command. …
  2. sfdisk (scriptable fdisk) Command. …
  3. cfdisk (curses fdisk) Command. …
  4. Parted Command. …
  5. lsblk (list block) Command. …
  6. blkid (block id) Command. …
  7. hwinfo (hardware info) Command.

Does Linux use MBR or GPT?

It is common for Linux servers to have several hard disks so it’s important to understand that large hard disks with more than 2TB and many newer hard disks use GPT in place of MBR to allow for the additional addressing of sectors.

See also  What is the Drive app on my Android phone?

What partition table should I use?

As a general rule, each disk device should contain only one partition table. … Recent Windows versions, such as Windows 7, can use either a GPT or an MSDOS partition table. Older Windows versions, such as Windows XP, require an MSDOS partition table. GNU/Linux can use either a GPT or an MSDOS partition table.

What are the two main partitions for Linux?

There are two kinds of major partitions on a Linux system:

  • data partition: normal Linux system data, including the root partition containing all the data to start up and run the system; and.
  • swap partition: expansion of the computer’s physical memory, extra memory on hard disk.

How do you partition?


  1. Right click This PC and select Manage.
  2. Open Disk Management.
  3. Select the disk from which you want to make a partition.
  4. Right click the Un-partitioned space in the bottom pane and select New Simple Volume.
  5. Enter the size and click next and you are done.

Leave a Comment