Which Windows Server 2012 editions provide all features of Windows Server 2012?

Windows Server 2012 has four editions: Foundation, Essentials, Standard and Datacenter.

Which edition of Server 2012 has all the features incorporated?

Windows Server 2012 Foundation edition

Foundation edition can be implemented in environments where features such as file sharing, printer sharing, security and remote access are required.

What are the versions of Windows Server 2012 R2?

Editions. According to the Windows Server 2012 R2 datasheet published on May 31, 2013, there are four editions of this operating system: Foundation, Essentials, Standard and Datacenter.

What are the features of Windows Server 2012?

What’s New for Windows Server 2012

  • Windows Clustering. Windows Clustering allows you to manage both network load-balanced clusters as well as failover clusters. …
  • User Access Logging. New! …
  • Windows Remote Management. …
  • Windows Management Infrastructure. …
  • Data Deduplication. …
  • iSCSI Target Server. …
  • NFS Provider for WMI. …
  • Offline Files.

What is the physical memory of Windows Server 2012?

Physical Memory Limits: Windows Server 2012

Version Limit on X64
Windows Server 2012 Datacenter 4 TB
Windows Server 2012 Standard 4 TB
Windows Server 2012 Essentials 64 GB
Windows Server 2012 Foundation 32 GB

Which Windows server is most used?

One of the most important components of the 4.0 release was Microsoft Internet Information Services (IIS). This free addition is now the most popular web management software in the world. Apache HTTP Server is in second place, although up until 2018, Apache was the leading web server software.

Is Windows Server 2012 R2 still supported?

Windows Server 2012, and 2012 R2 End of Extended support is approaching per the Lifecycle Policy: Windows Server 2012 and 2012 R2 Extended Support will end on October 10, 2023. Customers are upgrading to the latest release of Windows Server and applying the latest innovation to modernize their IT environment.

What is the old name of Windows?

Microsoft Windows, also called Windows and Windows OS, computer operating system (OS) developed by Microsoft Corporation to run personal computers (PCs). Featuring the first graphical user interface (GUI) for IBM-compatible PCs, the Windows OS soon dominated the PC market.

Is Server 2012 R2 free?

Windows Server 2012 R2 offers four paid editions (ordered by price from low to high): Foundation (OEM only), Essentials, Standard, and Datacenter. Standard and Datacenter editions offer Hyper-V while Foundation and Essentials editions don’t. The completely free Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2012 R2 also includes Hyper-V.

What is Windows Server 2012 R2 used for?

Windows Server 2012 R2 is configured, like Server 2012, via Server Manager. It’s a modern-style desktop application that gives you an overview of running services from its dashboard, as well as launching the familiar Windows Server management tools and handling role and feature installation.

What are the definitions of Windows Server 2012 roles and features?


  • Active Directory Certificate Services.
  • Active Directory Domain Services.
  • Active Directory Federation Services.
  • Active Directory Lightweight Directory Services.
  • Active Directory Rights Management Services.
  • Application Server.
  • DHCP Server.
  • DNS Server.

How many types of Windows servers are there?

There are four editions of Windows Server 2008: Standard, Enterprise, Datacenter, and Web.

Leave a Comment